Federation of Genealogical Societies 
Solano County Overview
Solano County Communities and Roadmap
In the Northern Region of California’s Great Central Valley, Solano County is a growing and thriving area. It has a long history, dating back to the colonization of the site by Mexican Commandante General Mariano Guadalupe Vallejo in 1835. The area became Solano County with boundaries set in 1850, one of the original 27 counties in California.
Solano County was named after the celebrated missionary to Peru St. Francis Solano (1589-1611), as well as after the Suisun Indian, Sem Yeto, who was later baptized Francisco Solano by the missionaries and called “Chief Solano.” Solano County was the gateway between the San Francisco Bay and the Sacramento Valley, through which many pioneers passed on their way to the Gold Country. Some later returned to reap the county’s agricultural riches and put down permanent roots in California.
Solano County includes the cities of Benicia, Dixon (Silveyville) Rio Vista, Suisun, Vacaville, and Vallejo. It also has many well-known landmarks, such as Mare Island in Vallejo and the Old Town Hall building in Vacaville. It includes some unincorporated areas with historical value such as Cement Hill, Birds Landing, Cordelia, Bucktown, Collinsville, Maine Prairie, Rockville, and Scandia.
See our Links & Resources page for more information.